Government Services Officer

Apply Now

Closing date: May 23, 2018

Location: Lutselk'e

Department: EXE South Regional Offices

Job Code: 15569

Wage: $38.98 - $46.54/hour

Job: Part-Time

Term: Regular

Job Description: View full job description

About the Job

Limited Competition

This job opening is limited to residents living within 25 km of Lutselk'e

Department Information

The Department of Executive and Indigenous Affairs works to provide overall management and direction to the Executive branch of the Government of the Northwest Territories. The Department is responsible for:  coordinating and supporting the planning, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of initiatives and actions in support of cross-government goals. The Department is responsible for ensuring mutually respectful intergovernmental relations between the territorial government and Aboriginal, provincial, territorial and national and international governments are maintained; along with negotiating and implementing land, resources and self-government agreements that address Aboriginal rights in the Northwest Territories.

Job Information

The Government Services Officer is responsible for providing service to the public through the Single Window Service Center. This is in order to improve citizen access to programs and services, as well as facilitate GNWT departments and agencies to better serve NWT communities and regions.


Reporting to the Manager Regional Operations the Government Services Officer will assist community residents in obtaining information about available government programs and services, support interaction between government departments and the community, and help residents complete  forms and documentation required to access programs and services. The Government Services Officer will also support those departments that are without an on-going community presence and help with coordination for departments already present in the community.


In rural and remote communities many services are not always available or easily accessible. The Single Window Service Center improves public access to government programs and services in smaller communities. Single Window Service Centers will be located in visible and frequently visited areas within the community. The incumbent will be the front line contact for the Service Center.


Success in this position will require a high degree of tact, diplomacy and discretion. The incumbent will be responding to citizen questions about access to government programs and services and be expected to provide reliable information, advice and guidance on program and service requirements.


Knowledge, Skills and Abilities:
• Knowledge of the mandate(s), vision(s), mission(s), organizational structures and service standards of GNWT departments.
• Knowledge of government services (including content, intent and relationship to other programs and services), delivery techniques (including timing, method, eligibility), and reporting requirements.
• Strong communication (verbal and written) and interpersonal skills, with particular attention to excellent customer service.
• Ability to speak Aboriginal language(s) of a community.
• Ability to work under pressure in a multi-task environment.
• Ability to deal with all members of the public in a fair and equitable manner.
• Ability to work independently and maintain confidentiality.
• Analytical skills, including the ability to research information, interpret information, and clearly explain information to others.
• Proficient computer skills, including familiarity with Microsoft Word, Excel, and Internet browsers.
• Ability to undertake training and apply new knowledge to changing situations.
• Flexibility to travel a few times per year for regional meetings or training sessions.
• Experience interpreting and explaining programs, policies and procedures.
• Experience working with computer systems, both entering and explaining data.
• Demonstrate experience working under minimal supervision.


Typically, the above qualifications would be attained by:
Administrative experience as a Customer Service Representative, preferably in the public sector and in a position which involved the provision of a variety of services in an informational, public relations or problem solving role. Education in a relevant Aboriginal language would be an asset.
 

 

More Information

Part-time position

This Job opening is for a Part-time position (20 hours of per week)

Equivalencies

Equivalent combinations of education and experience will be considered.

Salary Information

The salary for this position starts at $38.98 per hour, plus an annual Northern Allowance of $19,255 (pro-rated).

Eligibility

Eligibility lists may be created from this competition to fill future term and indeterminate positions.

Criminal Records Check

Candidates must provide a satisfactory criminal record check. Failure to provide a satisfactory check may deem you disqualified from the competition.

Affirmative Action

Candidates must clearly identify their eligibility in order to receive priority consideration under the Affirmative Action Policy.

Diversity and Inclusion

The Government of the Northwest Territories is an inclusive workplace.  If you have a disability and you require support during the hiring process, you are encouraged to identify your needs if you are contacted for an assignment or interview so that you may be accommodated during the hiring process.

Job Opening Information

Job Opening ID # 15569

Closing Date: May 23, 2018 - 23:59, Mountain Standard Time

GNWT Inquiries

Inquiries Only:

Management and Recruitment Services
Department of Finance
Government of the Northwest Territories
Yellowknife Centre 5th Floor  
P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife NT X1A 2L9
Fax: (867) 873-0445
jobsyk@gov.nt.ca

Agent des services gouvernementaux

Postuler maintenant

Date limite : 23 mai. 2018

Collectivité : Lutselk'e

Ministère : EXE South Regional Offices

Numéro du concours : 15569

Salaire : 38,98 $ - 46,54 $ l'heure

Type d'emploi : Temps partiel

Durée de l’emploi : Permanent

Description de poste : Consulter la description de poste détaillée

Offre d'emploi

Concours réservé 
Le concours est réservé aux candidats qui résident dans un rayon de 25 km de Lutselk'e.


Poste à temps partiel 
Il s’agit d’un emploi à temps partiel (20 heures par semaine).

Renseignements sur le ministère 
Le ministère de l’Exécutif et des Affaires autochtones assume les fonctions générales de gestion et de consultation auprès de la direction du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Il est chargé de coordonner et de soutenir la planification, la mise en œuvre, le suivi et l’évaluation des initiatives et des mesures appuyant les objectifs intergouvernementaux; d’établir et de maintenir des relations intergouvernementales fondées sur le respect mutuel entre le gouvernement territorial et les gouvernements autochtones, provinciaux, territoriaux, national et internationaux; ainsi que de négocier et de mettre en œuvre des ententes sur les droits des Autochtones aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest (TNO) et portant sur les terres, les ressources et l’autonomie gouvernementale.


Renseignements sur le poste 
L’agent des services gouvernementaux a la responsabilité de fournir des services à la population par l’intermédiaire du centre de services à guichet unique. Son mandat consiste notamment à faciliter l’accès des citoyens aux programmes et aux services gouvernementaux et à aider les ministères et organismes du gouvernement à mieux servir les collectivités et régions des TNO.


Relevant du gestionnaire des activités régionales, le titulaire fait le pont entre les ministères gouvernementaux et la population, fournit aux résidents des renseignements sur les programmes et services gouvernementaux auxquels ils ont accès, et les aide à remplir les formulaires et autres documents requis pour profiter d’un programme ou d’un service donné. Il soutient aussi les ministères qui n’offrent pas en permanence des services directs à la population de la collectivité desservie et participe à la coordination des services aux citoyens des autres ministères.


Dans les collectivités rurales ou éloignées, plusieurs services s’avèrent parfois difficiles d’accès. Les nouveaux centres de services à guichet unique, qui ont pignon sur rue dans des endroits stratégiques très fréquentés par les résidents, visent à augmenter l’accessibilité des programmes et des services gouvernementaux dans les petites collectivités. L’agent des services gouvernementaux y est la personne-ressource de première ligne.
Le titulaire de ce poste doit faire preuve d’un tact, d’un sens de la diplomatie et d’une discrétion à toute épreuve. Il aura à répondre à des questions concernant les critères d’admissibilité et l’accès aux services et aux programmes gouvernementaux; il devra aussi orienter les citoyens et leur fournir des renseignements fiables et des conseils pertinents.


Connaissances, aptitudes et habiletés essentielles
• Bien connaître le mandat, la vision, la mission, la structure organisationnelle et les normes de service des différents ministères du GTNO.
• Bien connaître les services gouvernementaux (ce qui comprend leur contenu et leur visée, mais également les liens qui existent entre les différents programmes et services), le mode de prestation des services (échéances, modalités, règles d’admissibilité, etc.) et les exigences de déclaration.
• Faire preuve d’un grand entregent et démontrer de solides compétences en communication (verbale et écrite) en affichant plus particulièrement un très grand souci du service à la clientèle.
• Pouvoir communiquer dans la ou les langues autochtones en usage dans la collectivité.
• Être capable de travailler sous pression et de gérer des tâches et des priorités multiples.
• Interagir avec des personnes de tous horizons de manière professionnelle, juste et équitable.
• Faire preuve d’autonomie et respecter le devoir de confidentialité dans ses fonctions.
• Avoir une bonne capacité d’analyse et savoir trouver, comprendre et vulgariser clairement l’information.
• Avoir une bonne maîtrise de l’informatique, notamment de Microsoft Word et Excel ainsi que des navigateurs Internet.
• Être en mesure de se former et de mettre en application les connaissances nouvellement acquises dans un environnement qui évolue constamment.
• Être prêt à voyager quelques fois par année pour participer à des réunions régionales ou à des formations.
• Posséder de l’expérience dans l’interprétation et l’explication de programmes, de politiques et de procédures.
• Être capable d’utiliser des systèmes informatiques pour faire la saisie et l’interprétation de données.
• Avoir démontré sa capacité à travailler sous supervision minimale.


En règle générale, le candidat doit posséder :
De l’expérience dans le domaine administratif en tant que préposé au service à la clientèle, préférablement dans le secteur public et dans un poste qui comprend la prestation de services variés en relations publiques, en communication d’informations ou en résolution de problèmes. Une formation scolaire dans une langue autochtone parlée dans la collectivité constitue un atout.


Équivalences 
Nous prendrons en considération toute combinaison équivalente de formation et d’expérience.


Salaire 
Le traitement initial est de 38,98 $ l’heure, auquel s’ajoute une allocation annuelle de vie dans le Nord de 19 255 $ (répartie proportionnellement).


Admissibilité 
Nous pourrions établir des listes de candidats admissibles à partir de ce concours afin de pourvoir des postes semblables temporaires ou permanents.


Vérification du casier judiciaire 
Les candidats doivent se soumettre à une vérification du casier judiciaire. À défaut de fournir une attestation de vérification du casier judiciaire satisfaisante, le candidat risque de se voir disqualifier du concours.


Programme de promotion sociale 
Pour se voir accorder la priorité en vertu du programme de promotion sociale, les candidats doivent montrer clairement qu’ils y sont admissibles.

Diversité et inclusion 
Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est un milieu de travail ouvert à tous. Nous encourageons les personnes ayant une incapacité qui nécessite des mesures d’adaptation à nous faire part de leurs besoins, si elles sont retenues pour une entrevue ou une évaluation, afin que l’on puisse prendre de telles mesures dans le cadre de la procédure d’embauche.


Renseignements sur le concours 
No du concours : 15569
Date limite : 23 mai 2018, à 23 h 59, heure des Rocheuses


Renseignements seulement : 
Services de gestion et de recrutement
Ministère des Finances
Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Yellowknife Centre, 5e étage 
C. P. 1320, Yellowknife NT  X1A 2L9
Téléc. : 867-873-0445
Courriel : jobsyk@gov.nt.ca