Manager, Public Affairs & Comm

Apply Now

Closing date: May 31, 2018

Location: Yellowknife

Department: INF Policy Planning & Comm

Job Code: 15517

Salary: $104,618 - $124,898

Job: Full-Time

Term: Regular

Job Description: View full job description

About the Job

Department Information

The Department of Infrastructure (INF) provides high quality services to the public and Government of the Northwest Territories’ (GNWT) departments, boards and agencies including the planning, design, construction, acquisition, operation and maintenance of public transportation infrastructure and the buildings, works and equipment required for the GNWT to deliver its programs and services. INF makes essential petroleum products available for sale to the public where these products are not provided by the private sector, and promotes the development and increased use of energy efficient technologies.  INF also regulates electrical and mechanical safety services and licenses individuals and vehicles operating in the territory.

For more information please refer to the Department of Infrastructure website at http://www.inf.gov.nt.ca/

Job Information

The Manager, Public Affairs and Communications, (Manager) is located in Yellowknife and reports to the Director, Policy, Planning and Communications. The Manager is the direct supervisor for two full-time employees and one intern, and is responsible for assigning projects and managing work plans.


The Department of Infrastructure is highly decentralized in the delivery of its programs and services and is responsible for territory-wide government programs such as the operation and maintenance of public buildings and transportation infrastructure and systems, project management, facilities planning, design and technical support services, environmental assessment and remediation, property management, procurement shared services, information technology, information management, disposal of surplus property and goods, motor vehicle and mechanical/electrical regulatory services and fleet management.


The Manager, Public Affairs and Communications is responsible for management and oversight in the development, coordination and implementation of the Department's public relations and communications strategies and plans, and the provision of specialist advice and expertise related to media relations, promotion of the Department's objectives, and the production of digital, print, multi-media, audio-visual and promotional materials to support the Department's communications initiatives. The position is also responsible for ensuring that official language requirements are met and for managing a positive image of the Department in all public relations.


Typically, the above qualifications would be attained by:
University degree with specialization in journalism, communications, public relations, or marketing, with a minimum five (5) years of experience in the communications field. Three (3) year's management and direct supervisory experience is also required.

More Information

Transfer Assignments

Transfer Assignments may be considered.

Equivalencies

Equivalent combinations of education and experience will be considered.

Criminal Records Check

Candidates must provide a satisfactory criminal record check. Failure to provide a satisfactory check may deem you disqualified from the competition.

Affirmative Action

Candidates must clearly identify their eligibility in order to receive priority consideration under the Affirmative Action Policy.

Diversity and Inclusion

The Government of the Northwest Territories is an inclusive workplace.  If you have a disability and you require support during the hiring process, you are encouraged to identify your needs if you are contacted for an assignment or interview so that you may be accommodated during the hiring process.

Job Opening Information

Job Opening ID # 15517     

Closing Date: June 1, 2018 - 23:59, Mountain Standard Time

Salary Information

The salary range for this position is from $53.65 per hour to $64.05 per hour (approximately $104,618 - $124,898.) plus an annual Northern Allowance of $3,450.

Eligibility

Eligibility lists may be created from this competition to fill future term and indeterminate positions.

 

GNWT Inquiries

Inquiries Only:

Management and Recruitment Services
Department of Finance
Government of the Northwest Territories
Yellowknife Centre 5th Floor  
P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife NT X1A 2L9
Fax: (867) 873-0445
jobsyk@gov.nt.ca

Gestionnaire des relations publiques et des communications

Postuler maintenant

Date limite : 31 mai. 2018

Collectivité : Yellowknife

Ministère : INF Policy Planning & Comm

Numéro du concours : 15517

Salaire : 104 618 $ - 124 898 $

Type d'emploi : Temps plein

Durée de l’emploi : Permanent

Description de poste : Consulter la description de poste détaillée

Offre d'emploi

Renseignements sur le ministère
Le ministère de l’Infrastructure fournit des services de grande qualité au public ainsi qu’aux ministères, aux conseils et aux organismes du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (GTNO). Il est responsable, notamment, de la planification, de la conception, de la construction, de l’acquisition, de l’exploitation et de l’entretien de l’infrastructure des transports publics ainsi que des immeubles, des ouvrages et de l’équipement dont le GTNO a besoin pour offrir ses programmes et services. Le Ministère vend au public des produits pétroliers essentiels lorsqu’ils ne sont pas offerts par le secteur privé, et favorise le développement des technologies écoénergétiques et l’augmentation de leur utilisation. De plus, il réglemente les services de sécurité relatifs à l’électricité et à la mécanique et assure la délivrance des permis de conduire et l’immatriculation des véhicules circulant aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web du ministère de l’Infrastructure au www.inf.gov.nt.ca/fr.

Affectation provisoire 
Nous prendrons en considération les demandes d’affectation provisoire.

Renseignements sur le poste 
Le gestionnaire des relations publiques et des communications travaille à Yellowknife et relève du directeur des politiques, de la législation, de la planification et des communications. Il supervise directement deux employés et un stagiaire à temps plein, et doit leur attribuer des projets ainsi que gérer des plans de travail.

Le ministère de l’Infrastructure fournit ses programmes et ses services de façon grandement décentralisée. Il s’occupe des programmes gouvernementaux ténois suivants : exploitation et entretien de bâtiments publics ainsi que d’infrastructures et de réseaux de transport; gestion de projets; planification des installations; services de conception et de soutien technique; activités d’évaluation environnementale et d’assainissement; gestion immobilière; services partagés de l’approvisionnement; technologies de l’information; gestion de l’information; élimination des biens et marchandises excédentaires; services réglementaires liés aux véhicules automobiles ainsi qu’aux appareils mécaniques et électriques; et, enfin, gestion du parc de véhicules.

Le titulaire du poste est chargé d’administrer et de surveiller l’élaboration, la coordination et la mise en œuvre des stratégies et des plans de relations publiques et de communication ministérielles, de fournir des conseils avisés et de partager son expertise sur les relations avec les médias, de promouvoir les objectifs ministériels et de produire des documents numériques, imprimés, multimédias, audiovisuels et promotionnels pour soutenir les initiatives de communication ministérielle. Il doit également veiller à ce que les exigences concernant les langues officielles soient respectées et que l’image du ministère soit positive dans toutes les campagnes de relations publiques.

En règle générale, le candidat doit posséder :
Un diplôme universitaire avec une spécialisation en journalisme, en communications, en relations publiques ou en marketing et posséder au moins cinq ans d’expérience dans le domaine des communications.

Il doit également posséder trois ans d’expérience dans un rôle comportant des tâches de gestion et de supervision directe.

Équivalences 
Nous prendrons en considération toute combinaison équivalente de formation et d’expérience.

Salaire 
Le traitement est compris entre 53,65 $ et 64,05 $ l’heure (soit entre 104 618 $ et 124 898 $ environ par année), auquel s’ajoute une allocation annuelle de vie dans le Nord de 3 450 $.

Admissibilité 
Nous pourrions établir des listes de candidats admissibles à partir de ce concours afin de pourvoir des postes semblables temporaires ou permanents.

Vérification du casier judiciaire 
Les candidats doivent se soumettre à une vérification du casier judiciaire. À défaut de fournir une attestation satisfaisante, le candidat risque de se voir disqualifier du concours.

Programme de promotion sociale 
Pour se voir accorder la priorité en vertu du programme de promotion sociale, les candidats doivent montrer clairement qu’ils y sont admissibles.

Diversité et inclusion 
Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est un milieu de travail ouvert à tous. Nous invitons les personnes ayant une incapacité qui nécessite des mesures d’adaptation à nous faire part de leurs besoins, si elles sont retenues pour une entrevue ou une évaluation, afin que l’on puisse prendre de telles mesures dans le cadre de la procédure d’embauche.

Renseignements sur le concours 
No du concours : 15517    
Date limite : 1 juin 2018, à 23 h 59, heure des Rocheuses

Renseignements seulement :
Services de gestion et de recrutement
Ministère des Finances
Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Yellowknife Centre, 5e étage 
C. P. 1320
Téléc. : 867-873-0445
Courriel : jobsyk@gov.nt.ca