Regional Superintendent

Apply Now

Closing date: Feb 23, 2018

Location: Inuvik

Department: MAC Program Management

Job Code: 15167

Salary: $109,493 - $156,410

Job: Full-Time

Term: Regular

Job Description: View full job description

About the Job

Department Information

The Department of Municipal and Community Affairs (MACA), supports capable, accountable and self-directed community governments providing a safe, sustainable and healthy environment for community residents.

 

Job Information

The Regional Superintendent is responsible for providing the direction, strategic leadership and management of the implementation and delivery of all Municipal and Community Affairs (MACA) programs and services at the regional and community level. This needs to be strategically carried out in a manner that is consistent with MACA's mission and also with the unique needs of the Region. The Regional Superintendent leads the regional staff in proactively supporting community governments and other stakeholders to effectively deliver their key roles and responsibilities. At the same time the Regional Superintendent also coordinates and liaises with government Departments, agencies and other levels of government to champion the needs and interests of communities, as well as the Department.

 

The position is located in Inuvik and reports to the Assistant Deputy Minister. There are significant issues and opportunities facing community governments in the Northwest Territories, including their evolving and increasing authority and responsibility for areas including community infrastructure planning and construction, contracting and procurement, water quality, land administration and project management. Throughout, there is an ongoing challenge to build and maintain capacity. The incumbent must be able to provide strategic and expert leadership, advice and guidance to community governments in order to support them in delivering quality programs and services to their residents. Community elected leaders and administrators rely on the Regional Superintendent for 'value added' advice and guidance.

 

Typically, the above qualifications would be attained by the completion of a bachelor's degree in public administration or a related field and a minimum of ten (10) years experience in management.

 

More Information

Equivalencies

Equivalent combinations of education and experience will be considered.

 

Salary Information

The salary range for this position is from $56.15 per hour to $80.21 per hour (approximately $109,493 - $156,410.) plus an annual Northern Allowance of $13,837.

Eligibility

Eligibility lists may be created from this competition to fill future term and indeterminate positions.

 

Criminal Records Check

Employment in some positions requires an acceptable criminal records check.  Possession of a criminal record will not necessarily disqualify candidates from further consideration.

 

Affirmative Action

Candidates must clearly identify their eligibility in order to receive priority consideration under the Affirmative Action Policy.

 

Diversity and Inclusion

The Government of the Northwest Territories is an inclusive workplace.  If you have a disability and you require support during the hiring process, you are encouraged to identify your needs if you are contacted for an assignment or interview so that you may be accommodated during the hiring process.

 

Job Opening Information

Job Opening ID # 15167         

Closing Date: February 23, 2018 - 23:59, Mountain Standard Time

 

GNWT Inquiries

Inquiries Only:

Inuvik HR Client Service Centre
Department of Finance
Government of the Northwest Territories
Box 1869
INUVIK, NT  X0E 0T0
Ph. (867) 678-6600
Fax (867) 678-6620
E-mail:  jobsinuvik@gov.nt.ca

Senior Management Occupation

This job opening is for a Senior Management Occupation.  Candidates must clearly identify their eligibility in order to receive priority consideration under the Affirmative Action Policy.

Surintendant régional

Postuler maintenant

Date limite : 23 fév. 2018

Collectivité : Inuvik

Ministère : MAC Program Management

Numéro du concours : 15167

Salaire : 109 493 $ - 156 410 $

Type d'emploi : Temps plein

Durée de l’emploi : Permanent

Description de poste : Consulter la description de poste détaillée

Offre d'emploi

Poste de haute direction

Le concours concerne un poste de haute direction. Pour se voir accorder la priorité en vertu du programme de promotion sociale, les candidats doivent montrer clairement qu’ils y sont admissibles.

 

Renseignements sur le ministère

Le ministère des Affaires municipales et communautaires (MAMC) soutient les administrations communautaires compétentes, responsables et autonomes qui offrent un environnement sûr, durable et sain pour les résidents de la collectivité.

 

Renseignements sur le poste

Le surintendant régional exerce à Inuvik et relève du sous-ministre adjoint. Il doit orienter, diriger stratégiquement et gérer la mise en œuvre et la prestation de tous les programmes et services du ministère du MAMC, à l’échelle des collectivités ou de toute la région. Ces tâches doivent être réalisées de façon stratégique, mais aussi d’une manière qui sera cohérente avec la mission du ministère et adaptée aux besoins de la région. Le titulaire amène le personnel régional à soutenir les administrations municipales et autres intervenants pour qu’ils assument efficacement leur rôle et leurs responsabilités. En outre, le surintendant régional agit comme coordonnateur et agent de liaison avec les autres ministères et agences du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ainsi qu’avec les autres ordres de gouvernement, avec le souci de défendre les besoins et les intérêts des collectivités de la région et du MAMC.

Aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, les administrations municipales font face à des problèmes de taille, mais profitent aussi d’occasions à saisir. Par exemple, elles jouissent d’une autorité et de responsabilités croissantes dans des domaines comme la planification et la construction des infrastructures communautaires, les contrats et les approvisionnements, la gestion de la qualité de l’eau, l’administration des terres ou la gestion de projets. Pour tout cela, il faut relever le défi constant de renforcer et de maintenir les capacités. Le titulaire doit être en mesure de fournir un leadership et des conseils stratégiques dignes d’un spécialiste à toutes les administrations municipales, afin de les aider à livrer des programmes et des services de qualité à leurs résidents. Les leaders et les administrateurs élus dans leur milieu se fieront au titulaire pour obtenir des orientations et des avis profitables.

En règle générale, le candidat doit posséder un baccalauréat en administration publique (ou dans une discipline connexe) et au moins dix ans d’expérience en gestion.

 

Équivalences

Nous prendrons en considération toute combinaison équivalente de formation et d’expérience.            

 

Salaire

Le traitement est compris entre 56,15 $ et 80,21 $ l’heure (soit entre 109 493 $ et 156 410 $ environ par année), auquel s’ajoute une allocation annuelle de vie dans le Nord de 13 837 $.

 

Admissibilité

Nous pourrions établir des listes de candidats admissibles à partir de ce concours afin de pourvoir des postes semblables temporaires ou permanents.

 

Vérification du casier judiciaire

Une attestation satisfaisante de vérification du casier judiciaire est une condition préalable pour certains postes. Une inscription au casier judiciaire n’entraînera pas nécessairement l’inadmissibilité du candidat.

 

Promotion sociale

Pour se voir accorder la priorité en vertu du programme de promotion sociale, les candidats doivent montrer clairement qu’ils y sont admissibles.

 

Diversité et inclusion

Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est un milieu de travail ouvert à tous. Nous encourageons les personnes ayant une incapacité qui nécessite des mesures d’adaptation à nous faire part de leurs besoins, si elles sont retenues pour une entrevue ou une évaluation, afin que l’on puisse prendre de telles mesures dans le cadre de la procédure d’embauche.

 

Renseignements sur le concours

No du concours : 15127

Date limite : 23 février 2018, à 23 h 59, heure des Rocheuses

 

Renseignements seulement :

Centre des services à la clientèle des ressources humaines d’Inuvik

Ministère des Finances

Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

C. P. 1869

Inuvik NT  X0E 0T0

Tél. : 867-678-6600

Téléc. : 867-678-6620

Courriel : jobsinuvik@gov.nt.ca