Lab Technologist - Core Laboratory

Apply Now

Closing date: Mar 2, 2018

Location: Yellowknife

Department: Northwest Territories HSSA

Job Code: 15148

Salary: $79,658 - $95,102

Job: Full-Time

Term: Temporary

Job Description: View full job description

About the Job

Department Information

The Northwest Territories Health and Social Services Authority – Stanton Territorial Hospital (NTHSSA)  is offering challenging work and work life balance.  Join our health care team as a Lab Technologist - Core Laboratory.   Stanton Territorial Hospital (STH) is a 100 in-patient bed accredited facility, located in Yellowknife Northwest Territories (NWT). This is an exciting time to work at Stanton as the hospital is undergoing  major redevelopment with a new $350 million facility being built with operations scheduled to transition into the new facility in 2019, for more information on the redevelopment visit www.stantonrenewal.ca.

STH is the referral center for approximately 43,000 NWT residents and 5,900 residents from the Kitikmeot Region of Nunavut. STH provides health care services to adults and children on an inpatient/outpatient and outreach basis in order to restore health with dignity.  STH maintains a tobacco free environment within the building and throughout the property, recognizing the health hazards associated with tobacco in the workplace, both to smokers and non-smokers alike.  Therefore, Stanton maintains a tobacco free environment within the building and throughout the property.

 

Job Information

The Lab Technologist - Core Laboratory collects and analyzes a variety of biological samples within the Core Laboratory in accordance with recognized international laboratory practices as well as the philosophy and objectives of the Northwest Territories Health and Social Services Authority (NTHSSA) to ensure that medical and non-medical professionals have the test results necessary to diagnose, treat and manage disease.

Located within Stanton and reporting directly to the Laboratory Supervisor, the incumbent analyzes samples and conducts individual patient tests using both complex laboratory instrumentation samples and conducts individual patient tests using both complex laboratory instrumentation and manual techniques. The incumbent does routine laboratory analysis in chemistry, hematology, transfusion medicine and specimen receiving/processing services. While performing analysis the incumbent must be able to recognize normal and atypical findings and initiate the appropriate action.

Based on workload and operational demands the Laboratory Technologist - Core Laboratory may be required to provide Laboratory Assistant and Bacteriology support and coverage in order to ensure efficient and continual flow of samples for analysis.

The incumbent will be required to share standby with all Laboratory staff (4-5 days per month), as well as providing rotational weekend and evening coverage. These services are provided on a seven-day per week rotational basis, 06:30 hrs. - 23:00 hrs. Services required after regular working hours are covered on an on-call basis. The incumbent may be required to provide functional guidance to 5 Laboratory Assistants when working within the Core Laboratory.

In addition to providing laboratory services to Stanton, the core Laboratory section provides services to:

  • 3 hospitals within the Northwest Territories (NWT);
  • 21 Health Centres located in the NWT;
  • 4 medical clinics Northwest Territories Health and Social Services Authority (NTHSSA);
  • Stanton-Environmental Health Unit; and
  • a variety of businesses located in the north including but not limited to mining companies and public works.

Pathology services are delivered through a consulting pathologist in Edmonton, Alberta. In the absence of a resident pathologist the incumbent acts as a resource on Laboratory related practice. The remoteness of Stanton from major referral centres requires that the incumbent has a comprehensive understanding in the Core Laboratory disciplines of Laboratory Medicine as well as instrument maintenance and repair.

As the largest laboratory in the NWT, the laboratory is often chose to participate in National Programs and committees; in the absence of local pathologist, the incumbent collaborates with the Laboratory Supervisor to ensure that Stanton conforms with internal and external policies/standards.

Typically, the above qualifications would be attained by:

A successful completion of a recognized Medical Laboratory Technology Program at a minimum of a diploma or degree level and certification and registration with the Canadian Society of Medical Laboratory Sciences (CSMLS) as a General Medical Laboratory Technologist. 

More Information

Term Position

This job opening is for a one (1) Year Term

Transfer Assignments

Transfer Assignments may be considered.

Immunization Status

The successful candidate will be required to obtain proof of current up-to-date immunization status.

Equivalencies

Equivalent combinations of education and experience will be considered.

 

Salary Information

The salary for this position starts at $40.85 per hour (approximately $79,658 per annum) plus an annual Northern Allowance of $3,450.

Eligibility

Eligibility lists may be created from this competition to fill future term and indeterminate positions.

 

Criminal Records Check

Candidates must provide a satisfactory criminal record check. Failure to provide a satisfactory check may deem you disqualified from the competition.

 

Affirmative Action

Candidates must clearly identify their eligibility in order to receive priority consideration under the Affirmative Action Policy.

 

Diversity and Inclusion

The Government of the Northwest Territories is an inclusive workplace.  If you have a disability and you require support during the hiring process, you are encouraged to identify your needs if you are contacted for an assignment or interview so that you may be accommodated during the hiring process.

 

Job Opening Information

Job Opening ID # 15148        

Closing Date: March 2, 2018 - 23:59, Mountain Standard Time

 

GNWT Inquiries

Inquiries Only:

Management and Recruitment Services
Department of Finance
Government of the Northwest Territories
Yellowknife Centre 5th Floor  
P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife NT X1A 2L9
Fax: (867) 873-0445
jobsyk@gov.nt.ca

Technologue de laboratoire (laboratoire principal)

Postuler maintenant

Date limite : 2 mar. 2018

Collectivité : Yellowknife

Ministère : Northwest Territories HSSA

Numéro du concours : 15148

Salaire : 79 658 $ - 95 102 $

Type d'emploi : Temps plein

Durée de l’emploi : Temporaire

Description de poste : Consulter la description de poste détaillée

Offre d'emploi

Poste temporaire

Il s’agit d’un poste temporaire d’un an.

 

Renseignements sur le ministère

L’Administration des services de santé et des services sociaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (ASTNO) pour l’Hôpital territorial Stanton offre à son personnel un milieu de travail stimulant qui favorise la conciliation travail-vie personnelle. Rejoignez notre équipe de soins de santé en devenant technologue de laboratoire pour le laboratoire principal. L’Hôpital territorial Stanton est un établissement agréé de 100 places pour patients hospitalisés à Yellowknife, aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest. La période actuelle est enthousiasmante pour le personnel de l’hôpital Stanton, car l’établissement s’apprête à déménager dans de nouvelles installations en construction (un projet de 350 millions de dollars); la transition est prévue pour 2019.

 

Stanton est une ressource essentielle pour environ 43 000 Ténois et 5 900 résidents de la région de Kitikmeot, au Nunavut. L’hôpital offre des soins de santé aux adultes et aux enfants hospitalisés ou non hospitalisés, dans un esprit communautaire visant le rétablissement de la santé avec dignité. Les bâtiments et terrains de l’hôpital sont des endroits sans fumée, afin d’offrir à tous (fumeurs et non-fumeurs) un milieu de travail et de soins le plus sain possible. Affectations provisoires

 

Renseignements sur le poste

Nous prendrons en considération les demandes d’affectation provisoire.

 

Renseignements sur le poste

Le technologue au laboratoire principal recueille et analyse divers échantillons biologiques selon les pratiques de laboratoire reconnues à l’international ainsi que la philosophie et les objectifs de l’Administration des services de santé et des services sociaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (ASTNO) afin de permettre au personnel médical et paramédical d’utiliser les résultats pour diagnostiquer, traiter et gérer les maladies.

 

En poste à l’hôpital territorial Stanton, sous la direction du superviseur du laboratoire, le titulaire analyse des échantillons et réalise des examens individuels sur les patients à l’aide de techniques spécialisées et d’appareils de laboratoire complexes, mais aussi en employant des instruments de laboratoire et des techniques manuelles. Le titulaire du poste effectue des analyses chimiques et hématologiques, et offre des services de médecine transfusionnelle ainsi que des services de réception et de traitement d’échantillons. Il doit être en mesure de différencier les résultats habituels des résultats inhabituels, puis d’entreprendre les démarches conséquentes.

 

D’après sa charge de travail et selon les exigences opérationnelles, le technologue au laboratoire principal peut être appelé à soutenir ou à remplacer l’assistant de laboratoire et le service de bactériologie afin de s’assurer que les échantillons puissent être analysés de façon efficace et continue.

 

Le titulaire devra être en disponibilité comme tout le personnel du laboratoire (4 à 5 jours par mois), ainsi que fournir une certaine disponibilité les fins de semaine et les soirs (par rotation). Nos services sont fournis 7 jours sur 7 selon un horaire en rotation, de 6 h 30 à 23 h. Les services requis après les heures normales de travail sont assurés par le personnel sur appel. Le titulaire pourrait être appelé à fournir des orientations fonctionnelles à cinq assistants de laboratoire, au laboratoire principal.

 

En plus de fournir des services de laboratoire au sein de l’hôpital Stanton, le personnel du laboratoire principal assure des services pour ces autres établissements de santé :

  • Trois hôpitaux aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest (TNO);
  • Vingt et un centres de santé aux TNO;
  • Quatre cliniques médicales relevant de l’ASTNO;
  • Le Service de santé environnementale de l’hôpital Stanton;
  • Plusieurs entreprises ou organismes présents dans le Grand Nord (p. ex. des sociétés minières ou du personnel des Travaux publics).

 

L’Administration emploie un pathologiste d’Edmonton, en Alberta, comme sous-traitant. En l’absence d’un pathologiste maison, le titulaire agit comme personne de référence sur les pratiques liées au laboratoire médical. En raison de l’éloignement de l’hôpital Stanton des grands centres spécialisés, le titulaire est tenu d’avoir une compréhension exhaustive des disciplines de la médecine de laboratoire et de savoir entretenir et réparer les instruments dont il dispose.

 

En tant que plus grand laboratoire des TNO, notre laboratoire est souvent choisi pour participer à des programmes et à des comités nationaux. En l’absence d’un pathologiste local, le titulaire travaille avec le superviseur du laboratoire pour s’assurer que l’hôpital Stanton se conforme aux politiques et aux normes internes et externes.

 

En règle générale, le candidat doit posséder :

Le candidat doit posséder un diplôme reconnu en technologie de laboratoire médical de même qu’un agrément de la Société canadienne de science de laboratoire médical (SCSLM) à titre de technologue de laboratoire médical.

 

Dossier de vaccination

Le candidat retenu devra démontrer que son dossier d’immunisation est à jour.

 

Équivalences

Nous prendrons en considération toute combinaison équivalente de formation et d’expérience.

 

Salaire

Le traitement initial est de 40,85 $ l’heure (soit environ 79 658 $ par année), auquel s’ajoute une allocation annuelle de vie dans le Nord de 3 450 $.

 

Admissibilité

Nous pourrions établir des listes de candidats admissibles à partir de ce concours afin de pourvoir des postes semblables temporaires ou permanents.

 

Vérification du casier judiciaire

Les candidats doivent se soumettre à une vérification du casier judiciaire. À défaut de fournir une attestation satisfaisante, le candidat risque de se voir disqualifier du concours.

 

Programme de promotion sociale

Pour se voir accorder la priorité en vertu du programme de promotion sociale, les candidats doivent montrer clairement qu’ils y sont admissibles.

 

Diversité et inclusion

Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est un milieu de travail ouvert à tous. Nous encourageons les personnes ayant une incapacité qui nécessite des mesures d’adaptation à nous faire part de leurs besoins, si elles sont retenues pour une entrevue ou une évaluation, afin que l’on puisse prendre de telles mesures dans le cadre de la procédure d’embauche.

 

Renseignements sur le concours

No du concours : 15148

Date limite : 2 mars 2018, à 23 h 59, heure des Rocheuses

 

Renseignements seulement :

 

Services de gestion et de recrutement

Ministère des Finances

Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Yellowknife Centre, 5e étage

C. P. 1320

Yellowknife NT  X1A 2L9

Téléc. : 867-873-0445

jobsyk@gov.nt.ca