Cultural Places Officer

Apply Now

Closing date: Nov 24, 2017

Location: Yellowknife

Department: ECE Culture & Heritage

Job Code: 14851

Salary: $83,363 - $99,509

Job: Full-Time

Term: Regular

Job Description: View full job description

About the Job

Department Information

The Department of Education, Culture and Employment (ECE) provides the residents of the Northwest Territories with access to quality programs, services and support to assist them in making informed and productive choices for themselves and their families with regard to education, training, careers, employment and labour, child development, languages, culture and heritage.

Job Information

The Culture and Heritage Division’s NWT Cultural Places Program administers information and access to a variety of spatial and non-spatial digital databases including Aboriginal graves, historic places, and geographic names. 

The incumbent is responsible for administering the Culture and Heritage Division’s cultural place programs by gathering and analyzing data on NWT heritage places; storing information in filing systems and databases; helping to maintain a set of electronic inventories and registers; making recommendations on official status of geographical or community names, for naming and name change, or for historic site commemoration proposals; disseminating heritage place information; communicating with municipal governments, federal government heritage agencies, land claim and self-government authorities, and the general public on all matters related to heritage places; and, helping to facilitate community-based heritage place research projects. The incumbent will be required to travel to NWT communities, will work independently on many projects, and will interact directly with the public, other governments, and other sections of the Division. Decisions made by this position affect public perception of the Division. This position is located in the Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre and reports to the Territorial Archaeologist.

Typically, the above qualifications would be attained by:

The level of cognitive and analytic skill required for this position is most commonly acquired through a Bachelor’s degree in Archaeology, Anthropology, Geography, Cultural Resource Management, or a related subject, and four years of experience in the geographic names and/or cultural and heritage resource management fields.

More Information

Travel

The incumbent is required to travel by small plane or by road to NWT communities or remote field settings to participate in community meetings or research sessions. 

Equivalencies

Equivalent combinations of education and experience will be considered.

 

Salary Information

The salary range for this position is from $42.75 per hour to $51.03 per hour (approximately $83,363 - $99,509) plus an annual Northern Allowance of $3,450.

Eligibility

Eligibility lists may be created from this competition to fill future term and indeterminate positions.

 

Criminal Records Check

Employment in some positions requires an acceptable criminal records check.  Possession of a criminal record will not necessarily disqualify candidates from further consideration.

 

Affirmative Action

Candidates must clearly identify their eligibility in order to receive priority consideration under the Affirmative Action Policy.

 

Diversity and Inclusion

The Government of the Northwest Territories is an inclusive workplace.  If you have a disability and you require support during the hiring process, you are encouraged to identify your needs if you are contacted for an assignment or interview so that you may be accommodated during the hiring process.

 

Job Opening Information

Job Opening ID # 14851         

Closing Date: November 24, 2017 - 23:59, Mountain Standard Time

 

GNWT Inquiries

Inquiries Only:

Management and Recruitment Services
Department of Finance
Government of the Northwest Territories
Yellowknife Centre 5th Floor  
P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife NT X1A 2L9
Fax: (867) 873-0445

jobsyk@gov.nt.ca

Agent des sites culturels

Postuler maintenant

Date limite : 24 nov. 2017

Collectivité : Yellowknife

Ministère : ECE Culture & Heritage

Numéro du concours : 14851

Salaire : 83 363 $ - 99 509 $

Type d'emploi : Temps plein

Durée de l’emploi : Permanent

Description de poste : Consulter la description de poste détaillée

Offre d'emploi

Renseignements sur le ministère

Le ministère de l’Éducation, de la Culture et de la Formation offre aux Ténois des programmes, des services et du soutien de qualité pour les aider à faire des choix éclairés et judicieux pour eux et leur famille en matière d’éducation, de formation, de carrières, d’emploi et de travail, de développement de l’enfant, de langues, de culture et de patrimoine.

Renseignements sur le poste

Le programme des sites culturels des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, mis en œuvre par la Division de la culture et du patrimoine, procure des outils d’information et permet un accès à diverses bases de données à références spatiales ou non spatiales, notamment celles qui portent sur les tombes autochtones, les lieux historiques et les références toponymiques.

Le titulaire a comme responsabilité d’administrer le programme des sites culturels des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Dans le cadre de son travail, il rassemble et analyse des données au sujet des sites patrimoniaux des TNO; il consigne de l’information dans des systèmes de classement et dans des bases de données; il aide à la tenue à jour d’un ensemble de registres et d’inventaires électroniques; il formule des recommandations concernant le statut officiel des toponymes (appellations de lieux et de collectivités), le choix de toponymes (nouveaux ou modifiés) ou les propositions de commémoration de lieux historiques. En outre, il diffuse de l’information sur les sites patrimoniaux; il communique avec des administrations municipales, des agences du gouvernement fédéral, des groupes autochtones ayant négocié une autonomie gouvernementale ou encore des membres du grand public au sujet de diverses questions liées aux sites patrimoniaux. Enfin, il aide à faciliter des projets de recherche communautaires en lien avec des sites patrimoniaux. L’agent des sites culturels est appelé à se déplacer pour se rendre à divers endroits aux TNO. Il travaille de façon autonome sur un grand nombre de projets et interagit directement avec le public, d’autres gouvernements et d’autres services au sein de la Division. Ses décisions ont une incidence sur la perception que le public a de la Division. Précisons que le titulaire relève de l’archéologue territorial et qu’il est en poste au Centre du patrimoine septentrional Prince-de-Galles.

En règle générale, le candidat doit posséder :

un baccalauréat en archéologie, en anthropologie, en géographie, en gestion des ressources culturelles ou dans une discipline connexe. À cela doivent s’ajouter quatre ans d’expérience en toponymie ou en gestion des ressources culturelles et patrimoniales (ou les deux).

Déplacements

Le titulaire est appelé à se déplacer, par la route ou par voie aérienne (petits avions), pour se rendre dans diverses collectivités ou dans des régions inhabitées des TNO afin de participer à des réunions communautaires ou à des travaux de recherche.

Équivalences

Nous prendrons en considération toute combinaison équivalente de formation et d’expérience.

Salaire

Le traitement est compris entre 42,75 $ et 51,03 $ l’heure environ (soit entre 83 363 $ et 99 509 $ environ par année), auquel s’ajoute une allocation annuelle de vie dans le Nord de 3 450 $.

Admissibilité

Nous pourrions établir des listes de candidats admissibles à partir de ce concours afin de pourvoir des postes semblables temporaires ou permanents.

Vérification du casier judiciaire

Une attestation satisfaisante de vérification du casier judiciaire est une condition préalable pour certains postes. Une inscription au casier judiciaire n’entraînera pas nécessairement l’inadmissibilité du candidat.

Programme de promotion sociale

Pour se voir accorder la priorité en vertu du programme de promotion sociale, les candidats doivent montrer clairement qu’ils y sont admissibles.

Diversité et inclusion

Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est un milieu de travail ouvert à tous. Nous encourageons les personnes ayant une incapacité qui nécessite des mesures d’adaptation à nous faire part de leurs besoins, si elles sont retenues pour une entrevue ou une évaluation, afin que l’on puisse prendre de telles mesures dans le cadre de la procédure d’embauche.

Renseignements sur le concours

No du concours : 14851

Date limite : 24 novembre 2017, à 23 h 59, heure des Rocheuses

Renseignements seulement :

Services de gestion et de recrutement

Ministère des Finances

Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Yellowknife Centre, 5e étage

C. P. 1320, Yellowknife NT  X1A 2L9

Téléc. : 867-873-0445

Courriel : jobsyk@gov.nt.ca