Technician / Instructor, ENR Technology Program

Apply Now

Closing date: Oct 31, 2017

Location: Fort Smith

Department: Aurora College

Job Code: 14781

Salary: $98,046 - $114,134

Job: Full-Time

Term: Regular

About the Job

Department Information

Aurora College is focused on student success and is committed to supporting the development of our Northern society through excellence in education, training and research that is culturally sensitive and responsive to the people we serve.

 

Job Information

The Technician/Instructor, Environment and Natural Resources Technology Program (ENRTP) is responsible for the planning, organization, instruction, delivery and evaluation of educational programming for adults.  The incumbent is responsible for instructing courses related to the Environment and Natural Resources Technology Diploma Program, evaluating the courses, and recommending changes/improvements as required.  The incumbent will also be required to teach in other diploma and baccalaureate programs.  The incumbent manages and maintains a learning environment which is conducive to providing the highest level of education possible within their area of specialization.

The incumbent is also directly responsible for providing logistical, technical, and field support to Aurora College staff and students particularly related to the Environment and Natural Resources Technology Program.  The Technician/Instructor, Environment and Natural Resources Technology Program operates, monitors, maintains, and repairs a wide range of equipment, technology, and assets such as the Tsu Lake and Winter Field Camps.

Instruction can be scheduled in a number of ways, depending on the delivery approach of the particular course and/or program (e.g. semester, block, distance delivery, evening).  The incumbent may be required to teach courses or modules in community locations or other campuses from time to time as required by the design format of the particular program.  Instructors must instruct according to defined course objectives and program standards.

Typically, the knowledge, skills and abilities would be acquired through the completion of a Bachelor's Degree in life science or natural science, and/or a 2 year Diploma related to the environment and natural resources technology field supplemented by three (3) years' experience in small engines, equipment, asset maintenance and repair, three (3) years' experience in the field of environment and natural resources, and two (2) years' instructional experience in the field of Environment and Natural Resources at the post-secondary level.  Demonstrated experience working in remote field settings and knowledge of regional geography typically obtained by five (5) years of experience in the region and particularly by travel by snowmobile, boat, and small aircraft in the region are also required.

 

More Information

Adult Education Coursework Req

If you have not already completed a certificate in Adult Education, you will be required to complete a certificate in Adult Education within five (5) years of employment as an Instructor with Aurora College.

Bona Fide Requirement

Mandatory requirements for this position include a valid class 4 driver's license, a valid Firearms Possession and Acquisition License, a current Wilderness First Aid Certificate and a current Small Vessel Operator Proficiency Certificate.  Should the incumbent not possess the required licenses/certificates, the incumbent will be required to complete them within the first year of employment and maintain current certifications.

Travel

Some travel may be required.

Equivalencies

Equivalent combinations of education and experience will be considered.

 

Salary Information

The salary for this position starts at $49.02 per hour (approximately $95,589.00 per annum) plus an annual Northern Allowance of $6,167.00.

Eligibility

Eligibility lists may be created from this competition to fill future term and indeterminate positions.

 

Criminal Records Check

Candidates must provide a satisfactory criminal record check. Failure to provide a satisfactory check may deem you disqualified from the competition.

 

Affirmative Action

Candidates must clearly identify their eligibility in order to receive priority consideration under the Affirmative Action Policy.

 

Diversity and Inclusion

The Government of the Northwest Territories is an inclusive workplace.  If you have a disability and you require support during the hiring process, you are encouraged to identify your needs if you are contacted for an assignment or interview so that you may be accommodated during the hiring process.

 

Job Opening Information

Job Opening ID # 14781        

Closing Date: October 31, 2017 - 23:59, Mountain Standard Time

 

GNWT Inquiries

Inquiries Only:

Fort Smith HR Client Service Centre
Department of Finance
Government of the Northwest Territories
83 Breynat Street
Box 876
FORT SMITH, NT  X0E 0P0
Ph. (867) 872-6500
Fax (867) 872-3298
E-mail:  jobsfortsmith@gov.nt.ca

Instructeur et technicien du Programme de technologie de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles

Postuler maintenant

Date limite : 31 oct. 2017

Collectivité : Fort Smith

Ministère : Aurora College

Numéro du concours : 14781

Salaire : 98 046 $ - 114 134 $

Type d'emploi : Temps plein

Durée de l’emploi : Permanent

Offre d'emploi

 

Renseignements sur l’organisme

Le Collège Aurora se focalise sur la réussite de ses étudiants et s’engage à appuyer le développement de la société nordique en favorisant l’excellence dans l’éducation, la formation et la recherche, tout en étant sensible et en s’adaptant aux différences culturelles qui caractérisent sa clientèle.

 

Renseignements sur le poste

L’instructeur et technicien du Programme de technologie de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles est responsable de la planification, de l’organisation, de l’enseignement, de la mise en œuvre et de l’évaluation des programmes éducatifs pour les adultes. Le titulaire du poste est chargé de donner les cours du programme de technologie des ressources naturelles, d’évaluer ces cours et de recommander des changements ou des améliorations, s’il y a lieu. Il devra également donner des cours faisant partie d’autres programmes de baccalauréat ou menant à un diplôme. Il s’assure que les élèves atteignent le plus haut niveau d’éducation dans leur domaine de spécialisation grâce à un environnement propice à l’apprentissage.

 

L’Instructeur et technicien du Programme de technologie de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles est aussi directement responsable de l’offre de soutien logistique et technique sur le terrain aux employés et aux étudiants du Collège Aurora, en particulier en ce qui a trait au Programme de technologie de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles. Il utilise, surveille, entretient et répare une vaste gamme d’équipement, d’outils technologiques et d’actifs, comme le camp du lac Tsu et les camps d’hiver sur le terrain.

 

Le calendrier d’enseignement peut varier selon la façon dont un cours ou un programme en particulier est donné (cours d’un semestre, cours en bloc, cours à distance, cours du soir). Le titulaire du poste peut parfois être appelé à enseigner des cours ou des modules dans différents campus et collectivités selon le format du programme. Les instructeurs doivent suivre les objectifs fixés pour les cours ainsi que les normes établies pour le programme.

 

En règle générale, le candidat doit posséder un baccalauréat en sciences de la vie ou en sciences naturelles, ou un diplôme obtenu dans le cadre d’un programme de deux (2) ans dans le domaine de la technologie de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles. Il doit également posséder trois (3) ans d’expérience en entretien et en réparation de petits moteurs, équipement et actifs; trois (3) ans d’expérience dans le domaine de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles; et deux (2) ans d’expérience d’enseignement dans le domaine de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles au niveau postsecondaire. Le titulaire doit également avoir de l’expérience de travail en région éloignée et connaître la géographie régionale (expérience généralement acquise grâce à cinq années d’expérience dans la région et, plus particulièrement, grâce à des déplacements en motoneige, en embarcation et en petit aéronef dans la région).

 

Formation en éducation aux adultes obligatoire

Si vous n’êtes pas déjà titulaire d’un certificat en éducation aux adultes, vous devrez en obtenir un dans les cinq années suivant votre embauche à titre d’instructeur au Collège Aurora.



 

 

Exigences

Le titulaire doit détenir un permis de conduire de classe 4 valide, un permis de possession ou d’acquisition d’arme à feu valide, un certificat de secourisme en milieu sauvage à jour et un certificat de conducteur de petite embarcation à jour. Si le candidat ne possède pas les permis ou les certificats requis, il devra les obtenir au cours de la première année suivant son embauche et voir à leur renouvellement.

 

Déplacements

Le titulaire du poste peut être appelé à voyager.

 

Équivalences

Nous prendrons en considération toute combinaison équivalente de formation et d’expérience.

 

Salaire

Le traitement initial est de 49,02 $ l’heure (soit environ 95 589 $ par année), auquel s’ajoute une allocation annuelle de vie dans le Nord de 6 167 $.

 

Admissibilité

Nous pourrions établir des listes de candidats admissibles à partir de ce concours afin de pourvoir des postes semblables temporaires ou permanents.

 

Vérification du casier judiciaire

Les candidats doivent se soumettre à une vérification du casier judiciaire. À défaut de fournir une attestation satisfaisante, le candidat risque de se voir disqualifier du concours.

 

Programme de promotion sociale

Pour se voir accorder la priorité en vertu du programme de promotion sociale, les candidats doivent montrer clairement qu’ils y sont admissibles.

 

Diversité et inclusion

Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est un milieu de travail ouvert à tous. Nous encourageons les personnes ayant une incapacité qui nécessite des mesures d’adaptation à nous faire part de leurs besoins, si elles sont retenues pour une entrevue ou une évaluation, afin que l’on puisse prendre de telles mesures dans le cadre de la procédure d’embauche.

 

Renseignements sur le concours

No du concours : 14781

Date limite : 31 octobre 2017, à 23 h 59, heure des Rocheuses

 

Renseignements seulement :

 

Centre des services à la clientèle des ressources humaines de Fort Smith

Ministère des Finances

Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

83, rue Breynat

C. P. 876

Fort Smith NT  X0E 0P0

Tél. : 867-872-6500

Téléc. : 867-872-3298

Courriel : jobsfortsmith@gov.nt.ca