Corrections Northern Recruitment Training Program

Apply Now

Closing date: Oct 20, 2017

Location: Yellowknife

Department: JUS Corrections Training

Job Code: 14736

Wage: See "Salary Information" below.

Job: Full-Time

Term: Temporary

Job Description: View full job description

About the Job

Job Information

 Corrections Northern Recruitment Training Program

Department of Justice- Corrections Service

Yellowknife

 Are you looking for a challenging and rewarding career?  Are you interested in having a positive impact on people’s lives?  If the answer is YES, we want to hear from you!

Corrections Service is accepting expressions of interest from Northern Residents for the Corrections Northern Recruitment Training Program (CNRTP) eight week training opportunity, in Yellowknife beginning January 5, 2018. This program is offered by the Department of Justice to provide Northerners with the technical skills required to work in NWT facilities. Successful graduates of the program will qualify to apply on future Indeterminate, Term or Relief positions as they become available at our Yellowknife, Hay River or Fort Smith facilities.

This program consists of six weeks in-class and 14 shadow shifts at a Correctional facility. As a trainee, you learn to perform a variety of security functions to ensure the safe care, custody and control of inmates as well as the safety of staff and the public.  You will develop your interpersonal skills and professionalism to establish and maintain positive relationships with inmates, staff and the public to assist and encourage inmate’s safe re-integration back to the community.

Interested applicants must have the ability to work with a team, have good written and verbal communication skills, exhibit good judgment, be computer literate and be independent self-starters who are able to work under minimal supervision.  Cross-cultural experience is a definite asset.  You must be of good physical condition as necessary for running, climbing, standing, squatting, to drag, carry and lift persons and objects and for sitting for prolonged periods of time and possess sufficient strength and dexterity to restrain persons safely and to hear and be heard in noisy group situations. You must demonstrate a sound aptitude and appropriate attitude for work in this challenging field. Before applying we encourage you to review the Corrections Officer job description to ensure this is a line of work you are interested in.

Trainees will receive a training allowance of $21.44 per hour and a northern allowance of $1.77 per hour.

Acceptance to the program is contingent upon the following:

  • High School Diploma or equivalent
  • Possession of a valid class 5 driver’s license with ability to obtain a class 4 driver’s license within 4 months of hire 
  • Possession of valid Standard First Aid and CPR certification or able to qualify for certification before course completion date
  • Satisfactory criminal records check
  • Satisfactory medical assessment

*Appointments for the Criminal records check and Medical assessment will be scheduled by the Corrections Service

If this program interests you, please submit your resume and cover letter telling us why you are interested. You must include proof of your education, drivers licence and First Aid/CPR with your resume. Failure to provide these documents with your resume may result in your application being denied. (When uploading documents to e-Recruit please upload all documents as one).

The Affirmative Action Policy will be applied in filling seats for this training opportunity therefore candidates must clearly identify their eligibility in order to receive priority consideration under the Affirmative Action Policy.

The Government of the Northwest Territories is an inclusive workplace. If you have a disability and require accommodation you are encouraged to identify your needs.

Application Deadline: October 20, 2017                      

Job Code: 14736

Apply online today and start on the road to a rewarding career in the Public Service as a member of the Corrections team.

http://careers.hr.gov.nt.ca
HR
e-Recruit inquiries only: JobsYK@gov.nt.ca 
Program inquiries please visit: http://www.justice.gov.nt.ca

Or contact:
Darrel Ouellette
Training Officer
Department of Justice, Corrections Service
Government of the NWT
Email: darrel_ouellette@gov.nt.ca
Ph: 867-767-9263 ext. 82247
Fax: 867-873-0299

Corrections Northern Recruitment Training Program

Postuler maintenant

Date limite : 20 oct. 2017

Collectivité : Yellowknife

Ministère : JUS Corrections Training

Numéro du concours : 14736

Salaire : Voir «Salary Information» ci-dessous.

Type d'emploi : Temps plein

Durée de l’emploi : Temporaire

Description de poste : Consulter la description de poste détaillée

Offre d'emploi

Programme de formation des services correctionnels du Nord

Service correctionnel du ministère de la Justice

Yellowknife

Vous êtes à la recherche d’une carrière stimulante? Vous souhaitez exercer une influence positive sur les gens? Si la réponse est OUI, cette offre s’adresse à vous.

Le Service correctionnel accepte des déclarations d’intérêt des habitants des régions éloignées dans le cadre du Programme de formation pour les recrues des services correctionnels dans le Nord, d’une durée de huit semaines, qui débutera à Yellowknife le 5 octobre 2018. Le ministère de la Justice offre ce programme aux Ténois pour leur permettre d’acquérir les habiletés nécessaires au travail dans les établissements correctionnels des TNO. Les candidats qui termineront la formation avec succès posséderont les compétences nécessaires pour postuler à des postes permanents, temporaires ou de relève qui seront à pourvoir à Yellowknife, Hay River et Fort Smith.

Comme stagiaire, vous passerez six semaines en classe et vous effectuerez 14 stages d’observation dans un Centre correctionnel. Vous apprendrez à vous acquitter d’une série de fonctions, comme le soin, la garde et le contrôle de détenus, ainsi que la sécurité du personnel et du public. Vous développerez vos capacités relationnelles et votre professionnalisme pour créer et maintenir des relations positives avec les détenus, les employés et le grand public afin de faciliter et de favoriser la réinsertion sociale des contrevenants, en toute sécurité.

Les candidats intéressés doivent être capables de travailler en équipe, avoir des aptitudes pour les communications écrites et verbales, faire preuve de discernement, savoir utiliser un ordinateur, avoir l’esprit d’initiative et être assez autonomes pour pouvoir travailler avec une supervision minimale. Une expérience interculturelle est un atout certain. Vous devez être en assez bonne condition physique pour pouvoir courir, grimper, rester debout ou accroupi afin de tirer, de porter et de soulever des personnes ou des objets, et pouvoir demeurer en position assise pendant des périodes prolongées, tout en ayant assez de force et de dextérité pour maîtriser des personnes en toute sécurité, et entendre et être entendu dans les situations bruyantes. Vous devez démontrer une bonne aptitude et une attitude adaptée au travail dans ce domaine parfois difficile. Avant de soumettre votre candidature, nous vous invitons à examiner la description de travail associée aux postes d’agent correctionnel pour vérifier s’il s’agit d’une spécialisation qui vous intéresse.

Les participants au programme recevront une allocation de formation de 21,44 $ l’heure, auquel s’ajoute une allocation de vie dans le Nord de 1,77 $ l’heure.

Les candidats retenus répondront aux exigences suivantes :

  • diplôme d’études secondaires ou l’équivalent;
  • permis de conduire valide de classe 5 et capacité d’en avoir un de classe 4 dans les quatre mois suivant l’embauche; 
  • certificat de secourisme général et de RCR ou admissibilité à la certification avant la fin du cours;
  • vérification satisfaisante du casier judiciaire;
  • dossier médical satisfaisant.

*Le Service correctionnel fixera les rendez-vous pour la vérification du casier judiciaire et l’évaluation médicale.

Veuillez nous faire parvenir votre curriculum vitæ et une lettre dans laquelle vous nous expliquez pourquoi ce programme vous intéresse. Vous devez joindre à votre courrier une preuve de vos études et de votre certificat de secourisme général et de RCR ainsi qu’une copie de votre permis de conduire. Si vous ne fournissez pas ces documents avec votre curriculum vitæ, votre candidature pourrait être refusée (si vous postulez en ligne, à l’aide d’eRecruit, prière de téléverser tous les documents en une seule pièce jointe).

Le programme de promotion sociale sera appliqué pour combler les places offertes dans ce programme, d’où l’importance, pour les candidats, d’indiquer clairement qu’ils y sont admissibles afin d’obtenir la priorité à l’étape de l’étude des dossiers.

Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est un milieu de travail ouvert à tous. Nous encourageons les personnes ayant une incapacité qui nécessite des mesures d’adaptation à nous faire part de leurs besoins.

Date limite de réception des candidatures : 20 octobre 2017

No du concours : 14736

Déposez une demande en ligne aujourd’hui et entamez le cheminement vers une carrière gratifiante dans la fonction publique en tant que membre de l’équipe correctionnelle.

http://travaillezaugtno.ca/

Demandes aux RH concernant le recrutement en ligne seulement : JobsYK@gov.nt.ca

Pour en savoir plus sur le programme, veuillez consulter le site : http://www.justice.gov.nt.ca

Ou communiquez avec Darrel Ouellette
Agent de la formation
Service correctionnel
Ministère de la Justice
Gouvernement des TNO
Courriel : darrel_ouellette@gov.nt.ca
Tél. : 867-767-9263, poste 82247
Téléc. : 867-873-0299