Government Services Officer

Apply Now

Closing date: Jun 2, 2017

Location: Hay River Reserve

Department: EXE South Regional Offices

Job Code: 14362

Wage: $38.98 - $46.54/hour

Job: Part-Time

Term: Regular

Job Description: View full job description

About the Job

Limited Competition

This job opening is limited to residents living within 25 kilometres driving radius of the Hay River Reserve.

Department Information

The Department of Executive and Indigenous Affairs works to provide overall management and direction to the Executive branch of the Government of the Northwest Territories. The Department is responsible for:  coordinating and supporting the planning, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of initiatives and actions in support of cross-government goals The Department is responsible for ensuring mutually respectful intergovernmental relations between the territorial government and Aboriginal, provincial, territorial and national and international governments are maintained; along with negotiating and implementing land, resources And self-government agreements that address Aboriginal rights in the Northwest Territories.

 

Job Information

Reporting to the Manager, Regional Operations, the Government Services Officer will assist community residents in obtaining information about available government programs and services, support interaction between government departments and the community, and help residents complete forms and documentation required to access programs and services.  The Government Services Officer will also support those departments that are without an ongoing community presence and help with coordination for departments already present in the community.  In rural and remote communities many services are not always available or easily accessible.  The Single Window Service Centre is a new initiative to improve public access to government programs and services in smaller communities.  The Single Window Service Centres will be located in visible and frequently visited areas within the community.  The incumbent will be the front line contact for the Service Centre.  Success in this position will require a high degree of tact, diplomacy and discretion.  The incumbent will be responding to citizen questions about access to government programs and services and be expected to provide reliable information, advice and guidance on program and service requirements.  The Government Services Officer also assists elderly clients in home as needed as a designated by the Government Services Officer.

The knowledge, skills and abilities required include:  Knowledge of the mandate(s), vision(s), mission(s), organizational structures and service standards of GNWT departments; Knowledge of government services (including content, intent and relationship to other programs and services), delivery techniques (including timing, method, eligibility) and reporting requirements; Strong communication (verbal and written) and interpersonal skills, with particular attention to excellent customer service; Ability to speak Aboriginal language(s) of the community; Ability to work under pressure in a multi-task environment; Ability to deal with all members of the public in a fair and equitable manner; Ability to work independently and maintain confidentiality; Analytical skills, including the ability to research information, interpret information, and clearly explain information to others; Proficient computer skills, including familiarity with Microsoft Word, Excel and Internet browsers; Ability to undertake training and apply new knowledge to changing situations; Flexibility to travel a few times per year for regional meetings or training sessions; Experience interpreting and explaining programs, policies and procedures; Experience working with computer systems, both entering and explaining data; Demonstrative experience working under minimal supervision.

The above qualifications are typically attained by administrative experience as a Customer Service Representative, preferably in the public sector and in a position which involved the provision of a variety of services in an informational, public relations or problem solving role.  Education in a relevant Aboriginal language would be an asset.

More Information

Part-time position

This Job opening is for a Part-time position (20 hours of work per week).

Equivalencies

Equivalent combinations of education and experience will be considered.

Salary Information

The salary for this position starts at $38.98 per hour (approximately $40,285.00 per annum) plus an annual Northern Allowance of $2,949.00.

Eligibility

Eligibility lists may be created from this competition to fill future term and indeterminate positions.

Criminal Records Check

Candidates must provide a satisfactory criminal record check. Failure to provide a satisfactory check may deem you disqualified from the competition.

Affirmative Action

Candidates must clearly identify their eligibility in order to receive priority consideration under the Affirmative Action Policy.

Diversity and Inclusion

The Government of the Northwest Territories is an inclusive workplace.  If you have a disability and you require support during the hiring process, you are encouraged to identify your needs if you are contacted for an assignment or interview so that you may be accommodated during the hiring process.

Job Opening Information

Job Opening ID # 14362      Closing Date: JUN 02, 2017 - 23:59, Mountain Standard Time

GNWT Inquiries

Inquiries Only:

Dehcho Client Service Centre

GNWT Human Resources

9602-100 Street

Box 240

FORT SIMPSON, NT  X0E 0N0

Ph. (867) 695-7233

Fax (867) 695-3254

E-mail:  jobsdehcho@gov.nt.ca

Agent des services gouvernementaux

Postuler maintenant

Date limite : 2 juin. 2017

Collectivité : Hay River Reserve

Ministère : EXE South Regional Offices

Numéro du concours : 14362

Salaire : 38,98 $ - 46,54 $ l'heure

Type d'emploi : Temps partiel

Durée de l’emploi : Permanent

Description de poste : Consulter la description de poste détaillée

Offre d'emploi

Concours réservé 

Le concours est réservé aux candidats qui résident dans un rayon de 25 km en voiture de la réserve de Hay River.

Poste à temps partiel 

Il s’agit d’un emploi à temps partiel (20 heures de travail par semaine).

Renseignements sur l’organisme 

Le ministère de l’Exécutif et des Affaires autochtones assume les fonctions générales de gestion et de consultation auprès de la direction du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le ministère est chargé de coordonner et de soutenir la planification, la mise en œuvre, le suivi et l’évaluation des initiatives et des mesures appuyant les objectifs intergouvernementaux; d’établir et de maintenir des relations intergouvernementales fondées sur le respect mutuel entre le gouvernement territorial et les gouvernements autochtones, provinciaux, territoriaux, national et internationaux, ainsi que de négocier et de mettre en œuvre des ententes sur les droits des Autochtones aux TNO et portant sur les terres, les ressources et l’autonomie gouvernementale.

Renseignements sur le poste 

Relevant du gestionnaire des activités régionales, le titulaire fait le pont entre les ministères gouvernementaux et la population, fournit aux résidents des renseignements sur les programmes et services gouvernementaux auxquels ils ont accès, et les aide à remplir les formulaires et autres documents requis pour profiter d’un programme ou d’un service donné. Il soutient aussi les ministères qui n’offrent pas en permanence des services directs à la population et participe à la coordination des services aux citoyens des autres ministères. Dans les collectivités rurales ou éloignées, plusieurs services s’avèrent parfois difficiles d’accès. Les nouveaux centres de services à guichet unique, qui ont pignon sur rue dans des endroits stratégiques très fréquentés par les résidents, visent à augmenter l’accessibilité des programmes et des services gouvernementaux dans les petites collectivités. L’agent des services gouvernementaux y est la personne-ressource de première ligne. Le titulaire de ce poste doit faire preuve d’un tact, d’un sens de la diplomatie et d’une discrétion à toute épreuve. Il aura à répondre à des questions concernant les critères d’admissibilité et l’accès aux services et aux programmes gouvernementaux; il devra aussi orienter les citoyens et leur fournir des renseignements fiables et des conseils pertinents. Il devra également aider les clients plus âgés en se rendant à leur domicile au besoin à titre d’agent des services gouvernementaux.

Voici les connaissances, compétences et habiletés nécessaires pour ce poste : bien connaître le mandat, la vision, la mission, la structure organisationnelle et les normes de service des différents ministères du GTNO; bien connaître les services gouvernementaux (ce qui comprend leur contenu et leur visée, mais également les liens qui existent entre les différents programmes et services), le mode de prestation des services (échéances, modalités, règles d’admissibilité, etc.) et les exigences de déclaration; faire preuve d’un grand entregent et démontrer de solides compétences en communication (verbale et écrite) en affichant plus particulièrement un très grand souci du service à la clientèle; pouvoir communiquer dans la ou les langues autochtones en usage dans la collectivité; être capable de travailler sous pression et de gérer des tâches et des priorités multiples; interagir avec des personnes de tous horizons de manière professionnelle, juste et équitable; faire preuve d’autonomie et respecter le devoir de confidentialité dans ses fonctions; avoir une bonne capacité d’analyse et savoir trouver, comprendre et vulgariser clairement l’information; avoir une bonne maîtrise de l’informatique, notamment de Microsoft Word et Excel ainsi que des navigateurs Internet; être en mesure de se former et de mettre en application les connaissances nouvellement acquises dans un environnement qui évolue constamment; être prêt à voyager quelques fois par année pour participer à des réunions régionales ou à des formations; posséder de l’expérience dans l’interprétation et l’explication de programmes, de politiques et de procédures; être capable d’utiliser des systèmes informatiques pour faire de la saisie et de l’interprétation de données; et avoir démontré sa capacité à travailler sous supervision minimale.

En règle générale, le candidat doit posséder de l’expérience dans le domaine administratif en tant que préposé au service à la clientèle, préférablement dans le secteur public et dans un poste qui comprend la prestation de services variés en relations publiques, en communication d’informations ou en résolution de problèmes. Une formation scolaire dans une langue autochtone parlée dans la collectivité constitue un atout.

Équivalences 

Nous prendrons en considération toute combinaison équivalente de formation et d’expérience.

Salaire 

Le traitement initial est de 38,98 $ l’heure (soit environ 40 285 $ par année), auquel s’ajoute une allocation annuelle de vie dans le Nord de 2 949 $.

Admissibilité 

Nous pourrions établir des listes de candidats admissibles à partir de ce concours afin de pourvoir des postes semblables temporaires ou permanents.

Vérification du casier judiciaire 

Les candidats doivent se soumettre à une vérification du casier judiciaire. À défaut de fournir une vérification du casier judiciaire acceptable, le candidat risque de se voir refuser la possibilité de participer au concours.

Programme de promotion sociale 

Pour se voir accorder la priorité en vertu du programme de promotion sociale, les candidats doivent montrer clairement qu’ils y sont admissibles.

Diversité et inclusion 

Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est un milieu de travail ouvert à tous. Nous encourageons les personnes ayant une incapacité qui nécessite des mesures d’adaptation à nous faire part de leurs besoins, si elles sont retenues pour une entrevue ou une évaluation, afin que l’on puisse prendre de telles mesures dans le cadre de la procédure d’embauche.

Renseignements sur le concours 

No du concours : 14362

Date limite : 2 juin 2017, à 23 h 59, heure des Rocheuses

Renseignements seulement : 

Centre des services à la clientèle du Dehcho

Ressources humaines du GTNO

9602, 100e Rue

C. P. 240

Fort Simpson NT  X0E 0N0

Tél. : 867-695-7233

Téléc. : 867-695-3254

Courriel : jobsdehcho@gov.nt.ca