Department of Aboriginal Affairs and Intergovernmental Relations (DAAIR)

Protects, develops and promotes the interests of the GNWT and NWT residents in the negotiation and implementation of land, resource and self-government. The department also manages the GNWT’s intergovernmental relations with federal, provincial, territorial and Aboriginal governments. Aboriginal governments include the Akaitcho First Nations, Dehcho First Nations, Gwich’in Tribal Council, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, NWT Metis Nation, Sahtu Secretariat, and Tłı˛cho˛ Government.

Education, Culture and Employment (ECE)

Responsible for a wide-range of activities, including education, languages, culture, employment and income security. The department provides NWT residents with the opportunity to follow their educational goals and promotes lifelong learning. ECE oversees 50 schools in the NWT.

Environment and Natural Resources (ENR)

Works to protect and enhance environmental quality in the Northwest Territories through a number of programs, services and activities, including: biodiversity; land conservation; ecosystem classification; water strategy; management of hazardous substances; waste reduction and recovery (recycling); climate change; air quality; energy awareness; energy alternatives; energy efficiency; and environment assessment and monitoring. ENR provides a policy, planning and regulatory framework for the stewardship, protection and sustainable management of forest resources on 33-million hectares of land in the Northwest Territories.

Department of Executive (EXEC)

Through offices in this department, key coordination and advisory functions are performed for the Government of the Northwest Territories.

Department of Finance (FIN)

Manages and obtains the financial resources needed for the GNWT’s policies and programs. The department negotiates major financial arrangements with the federal government.

Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS)

Promotes, protects and provides for the health and well-being of the people of the Northwest Territories. Responsible for promotion and prevention programs, protection services, diagnostic and curative services, rehabilitation, continuing care, mental health and addictions services. There are eight health authorities in the NWT that oversee two hospitals and 38 health centres, clinics and/or units.

Department of Human Resources (DHR)

Supports the GNWT with pay, benefits, recruitment programs, learning and development as well as health and safety and much more. Other functions include labour relations, strategy and policy.

Industry, Tourism and Investment (ITI)

Interest in the Northwest Territories’ (NWT) resource potential has exploded since the 1990s when the discovery of diamonds initiated a new era of unprecedented economic growth – and, with it, the increased need for responsible and strategic planning and support for Northwest Territories’ businesses. The NWT produces 10,995,000 carats of diamonds a year valued at over 2 billion dollars. Since its inception in 2005, the Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment has focused on maximizing the potential of our territory’s tremendous resource base to provide a lasting benefit to our people and communities. The NWT welcomes 70,000 visitors a year. The NWT produces 27,489 fur pelts a year for a total value of $830,921.

Department of Justice (DOJ)

Administers justice, including policing and corrections, in the Northwest Territories. Also responsible for Community Justice and Victims Services. The Courts of the Northwest Territories are organized and administered in a system similar to that of courts elsewhere in Canada, and are dedicated to giving the Northwest Territories’ public access to justice on the same standard as in courts in other parts of Canada.

Department of Lands (LANDS)

On April 1, 2014 the new Department of Lands was created to support, manage and administer the sustainable use of public land in the NWT.  The GNWT's existing responsibilities for managing Commissioner's Lands also transferred from Municipal and Community Affairs (MACA) to the Department of Lands.  The mandate of the Department of Lands is to manage, administer and plan for the sustainable use of public land in the Northwest Territories in a fair and transparent manner that reflects the interests of the people of the Northwest Territories. 

Municipal and Community Affairs (MACA)

Works with community governments to provide a safe, sustainable and healthy environment for community residents. The department also promotes sport and recreation, development of youth, ensures compliance with safety standards, coordinates emergency services and protects consumer rights.

Public Works and Services (PWS)

An essential partner in the achievement of government goals through the provision of high-quality services, expert support and innovative leadership in asset management, information and communication technology, procurement, records management, community fuel provision, electrical and mechanical safety. The department handles contracting, tenders and reviews requests for proposals.

Department of Transportation (DOT)

Involved in all facets of planning, designing, constructing, operating and maintaining public transportation infrastructure in the Northwest Territories. The Northwest Territories has a unique transportation system composed of paved highways, gravel highways, ferries and winter/ice roads. The TV series “Ice Road Truckers” has drawn international attention to the NWT’s 1,400 kilometres of winter roads, ice roads and ice crossings. The DOT also oversees air travel. There are 82,363 take off and landings in the NWT each year.

Legislative Assembly (LA)

There are 19 members of the Legislative Assembly, which includes the Premier of the Northwest Territories. They are elected as independents in their constituencies. They then elect a Speaker and the Executive Council or “Cabinet”, which consists of the Premier and six Ministers.

The Northwest Territories Housing Corporation (NWTHC)

The Northwest Territories Housing Corporation (NWTHC) provides access to adequate, suitable and affordable housing. Through the provision of housing programs and services, the NWTHC contributes to the health and education of NWT residents and to the development of sustainable, vibrant and safe communities.